Lemons and Why You Should Love Them

LEMONS  and why I love them:

◘  Our body runs on electrolytes, such as potassium, sodium, chloride, and magnesium. These elements conduct electricity in our body, and to maintain balance of our body systems we need to also consume a healthy balance of these mineral salts. High sodium and low potassium in the diet can disrupt this balance and cause high blood pressure as well as increase the risk of cancer in the body.

Just use lemon juice to flavor foods in place of salt!

○ Why? Lemons are readily available, inexpensive, and the benefits are endless! They are a powerful antioxidant, antibacterial, astringent, diuretic, laxative, AND packed full of Vitamin C, A, B1, B6, and P, magnesium, potassium, and folic acid.

A little history: Lemons have been cultivated in China and Southeast Asia for about 4,000 years; their literature includes many stories about these fruits. The phytochemical limonene contained within the lemon is being used to dissolve gallstones and showing promising anticancer activity. Squeezing fresh lemon into a cup of hot water when you wake up is great for your gallbladder (breaking up fatty buildup).

How to choose the BEST lemon? The heavier the lemon, with a thin peel contains the most juice and is best stored at room temperature (to get the most juice). Rolling the fruit on a hard surface will also produce more juice.

In a rush? Squeeze lemon juice into ice cubes trays, freeze, and put in your water for quick lemon flavor! No need to clean and cut every time and they keep for up to 3 months.

Good cold remedy:

– One 1-inch slice of fresh ginger

– 1/4 tsp of cinnamon

– 1/4 lemon (juice)

– 1 cup hot water

Leg cramps: Drink hot lemon water before going to bed for prevention.

Poison ivy and bug bites: Rub lemon juice/lemon wedge on to prevent swelling and infection, and increase healing.

Memory loss: Studies have shown that lemons help reduce memory loss.

Skin: ♥♥ My Favorite ♥♥ Lemon juice hydrates and rejuvenates the skin cells, increasing elasticity; removing toxins and purifying. This leaves the skin glowing and looking younger. The lemon peel can also be used to improve acne; but be careful not to overdo it, too much can irritate the skin.

IMG_0549

☼ POW ☼

21 thoughts on “Lemons and Why You Should Love Them

  1. yogini27 April 16, 2013 / 4:08 pm

    oh I love them as well, too much so much so I took all the enamel off my teeth, be careful of drinking lemon juice or acidic food and then brushing your teeth

    Like

  2. Ms Vee March 9, 2013 / 11:34 pm

    Your welcome. Let me know what you think.

    Like

  3. Ms Vee March 9, 2013 / 11:19 pm

    Informative post! I rinse a lemon, freeze it, then grate the zest on veggies and seafood. Give it a try. I recently read the suggestion in an article. Thank you for following my blog. And giving When Tears Won’t Flow….the like.

    Like

  4. cariwiese March 7, 2013 / 9:30 pm

    I’ve never really been able to do hot water with lemon, but I do drop a slice of lemon in my bottled water. It makes it taste cleaner somehow, plus it’s a good system cleanser (as you know).

    Thanks for liking my blog post and following my blog!

    Like

  5. dawnspitfire March 5, 2013 / 4:25 pm

    No…..LOVE!

    Like

  6. livebreathesmile March 4, 2013 / 7:17 pm

    fantastic! I’m going to try the lemon ice cubes!!

    Like

  7. savorysouthern March 1, 2013 / 1:16 pm

    Wonderful information….I investigated the health benefits a while back and several articles I read insisted you also use the skin….zest the skin and add to your lemon and water to get the most of the nutrition and detoxing properties!

    Like

  8. 1smphobe March 1, 2013 / 12:59 pm

    I’ve been meaning to switch out that second or third cup of coffee with hot water and lemon… Thanks for the reminder – and for visiting my blog!

    Like

  9. thecollectioncup February 23, 2013 / 11:45 am

    That is wonderful! I would miss my coffee but the lemon water must make you feel great first thing in the morning.

    Like

  10. lilthingsbynadya February 23, 2013 / 11:34 am

    i have recently replaced my morning coffee with my warm water/lemon/agave drink and although I love coffee, and i’m just not that into it anymore! Lemons are now a staple on my grocery list.

    Like

  11. thecollectioncup February 23, 2013 / 11:20 am

    I would love to have lemon trees! The climate up here won’t allow it but I have been looking at the indoor growing process. I you ever grow one, send me a few 🙂

    Like

  12. beingserbian February 23, 2013 / 8:03 am

    I love lemons too! I’ve decided I should have my own lemon tree.
    Thanks for following my blog 🙂

    Like

  13. thecollectioncup February 20, 2013 / 3:58 am

    Awesome! Let me know how it works out for you. I’m assuming you mean the cramping? You can always ice for about 30 minutes and then take a nice soak in an Epsom salt bath. Can’t beat inflammation but you can minimize the pain 🙂 I was part of a training group a few years back and the instructor loved squats. There were many days when going down the stairs the next day was awful.

    Like

  14. Kirstin Stokes Smith February 19, 2013 / 11:58 pm

    I am completely making this tonight! Just completed my first yoga class (in a while) & am currently at my son’s track practice. We’re both going to be drinking this lemon bevvie!

    Like

  15. YogaCat February 19, 2013 / 12:42 pm

    Thanks for all of this great info – some a refresher – some new – to me. Have added lemons to the shopping list. I tend to turn to the lemon when I feel unwell. Nice to be reminded that the dear lemon is useful on a daily basis.

    Like

  16. thecollectioncup February 18, 2013 / 5:11 pm

    Hot water and lemon, your gallbladder is thanking you! Thank you for following also.

    Like

  17. thecollectioncup February 18, 2013 / 5:09 pm

    Thanks! Lemons are amazing and taken for granted, poor things.

    Like

  18. Mollie Walker Freeman February 18, 2013 / 1:15 am

    This is great! Makes me feel really good about the 1/2 lemon I typically put in my smoothies…

    Like

  19. Valerie {ALL MUSSED UP} February 8, 2013 / 4:08 pm

    Great post! I’ve been trying to start my days with hot water and lemon, and have been surprised by how much I’m enjoying it, actually.

    Thank you so much for following along on All Mussed Up…I’m having fun snooping around on your site!

    Like

Leave a Reply

