Foreigners God- Hozier

She moved with shameless wonder

The perfect creature rarely seen

Since some liar brought the thunder

When the land was godless and free


Her eyes look sharp and steady

Into the empty parts of me

But still my heart is heavy

With the hate of some other man’s beliefs


Always a well dressed fraud

Who wouldn’t spare the rod

Never for me


Screaming the name of a foreigner’s God [x3]

The purest expression of grief


Wondering who I copy

Mustering some tender charm

She feels no control of her body

She feels no safety in my arms


I’ve no language left to say it

But all I do is quake to her

Breaking if I try convey it

The broken love I make to her


All that I’ve been taught

And every word I’ve got

Is foreign to me


[x3:]

Screaming the name of a foreigner’s God [x3]

The purest expression of grief

Leave a Reply

